JULIEN
BENHAMOU

Encounters behind the lens
Interview with the photographer Julien Benhamou
Paris, 20/05/2018

Modestly introducing himself as show photographer, which is what he has been doing over the past ten years for the Opéra national de Paris, Julien Benhamou is actually more than that. To grasp the essence of a narrative requires a deep understanding of movement and motion, of the human body and its somatic speech, undoubtedly the most tangible and expressive part of a story. Through his infinitesimal exposure times and sharp flashes, Julien knows how to guide the spectator behind the visible realm. He reveals to our amazed eyes some of the rare moments when the impetus defeats gravity, when the spirit triumphs over the matter and when humans verge on the sacred.
 

The relation to space – to the ever-changing and sometimes tortured geography of the human body – is one of the most salient aspects of Julien’s work. Nevertheless, the relation to time is equally conspicuous and enthralling. Is it possible to get hold of a fleeting expression or emotion and make it immortal? Can one liberate the movement and the living from time’s tyranny? Julien masters the rules of this game. On the stage of the Parisian Opera, the performers and the dancers that he shoots aren’t only ephemerides on a billboard: they become immortals, and just like gods in a Greek temple, they will live forever in the backstage of time.

We had the pleasure and chance to work with Julien for Liquides Imaginaires’ brand image campaign “Parfums d’élévation”. Sharing his keen interest in elevation, transcendence and other gravity defying gestures, we have invited Julien for a dialogue about what drives and inspires his photographic work.

Liquides Imaginaires: Julien, can you tell us a couple of words about you and your work?

Julien Benhamou: I’m a scene photographer specialized in portraiture and dance. I have initiated my researches into the movement and the human body about ten years ago. Right now I am working with the Opéra de Paris, with the performers and their bodies. I hold an endless fascination for the movement of elevation and for freezing the moment. Yes, my work is about freezing the movement. Two words that define my work: poetical and aesthetic.

LI: The movement, the imagination and the narrative are key to a scene photographer. These themes also happen to be central to Liquides Imaginaires. How did you find the brief for the “Parfums d’élévation” campaign?

JB: Indeed, elevation is one of my day-to-day artistic quests. The elevation and the frozen moment are pivotal to my work. The creative mission proposed by Liquides Imaginaires was in tune with my work and with my own interrogations.

From the beginning, Philippe had a very clear idea in mind. We have started working and thinking together about how to convey the notion of elevation: we have immediately come to something vaporous, fluid, airy, light, in movement or floating. After settling on the broad-strokes, I have proposed the casting and the setup elements. Initially, the project was meant to be exclusively photographic, but we have gradually realized that filming would be appropriate, so we have done a video too.

LI: Which emotions associated to the feeling of elevation did you wish to get across?

JB: I wanted to express something positive. One of the pictures highlights the hands moving towards the sky. The performers were very beautiful and expressive, in a sense of fluidity and abandonment. As I see it, elevation is primarily upbeat.

LI: What did inspire you in working with a brand such as Liquides Imaginaires?

JB: Working with perfumes and, most of all, working with Philippe, who is such a passionate person. I wondered how to achieve the projection of the perfume on the human body.

LI: Let’s do a spontaneous imagination exercice. 

Which would be your photographic answer for illustrating the idea of return to the sacred?

JB: I see a connection between the earth and the air, not necessarily in a movement of elevation. Feet anchored to the ground and arms up in the air.

How would you picture an imaginary space?

JB: This makes me think of clouds, winter, something cottony and mellow, in any case…

How about an imaginary time?

JB: A gigantic hourglass!

LI: Which features come into your mind when you think of Liquides Imaginaires? Which are in your view the main assets of the brand?

JB: First of all, I think about the elements: water, earth, fire. I see an explosion of elements, something extremely powerful. These perfumes have a story to tell, they put forward a narrative both ancestral and modern, similar to a present-day shaman.

LI: How would you describe Philippe?

JB: Sensitive, creative, imaginative.

 

LI: If the brand was a historical character, fictional or mythological, which one would it be?

JB: Éros! Personally, I believe there is something very intense in relation to perfumes and, moreover, to this brand.

LI: In your work, we can notice a fine balance between reality and fantasy, matter and spirit, between the tangible and the immaterial worlds. How do you manage to reveal the volatile and ephemeral side of things through photography?

JB: In what I do, magic happens as a result of the frozen moment. My purpose is to bring to light something that exists, but we’re just not able to see. When it comes to leaps and movements, we perceive a continuum, we see a continuous motion. Thanks to photography, when we freeze a frame, we can access alternative versions of reality, invisible to the naked eye.

LI: Photography and perfume pertain to senses that don’t come in contact with one another. How can we visually depict a perfume, is it a challenge for you?

JB: I wouldn’t say it was a challenge. People are accustomed to imagery and visuals in the world of perfumes. I think it is possible and it makes sense to take photos of a scent. It’s just as illustrating an idea and this is most of the times the object of my work. It was all very coherent to me.

LI: What is elevation made of?

JB: Mysticism. The fact of surpassing oneself. The divine. The supernatural. An ancestral touch. Poetry. Dreams. It’s made of exhilarating feelings, love, joy, only positive emotions. It’s like the soul would try to express itself.

JULIEN
BENHAMOU

Rencontres derrière l’objectif
Entretien avec le photographe Julien Benhamou
Paris, 20/05/2018


Photographe de spectacle spécialisé dans la danse depuis plus de 10 ans, comme il se présente modestement, Julien Benhamou est bien plus que ça. Capter l’essence d’une narration exige d’abord une fine compréhension du mouvement, du corps humain et de son récit somatique, sans doute la composante la plus tangible et expressive d’une histoire. Avec ses temps infinitésimaux d’exposition et avec la précision révélatrice de ses éclairages, Julien sait initier le regard au-delà du visible. Il dévoile pour nous les rares moments où l’élan vainc la gravitation, où l’esprit éclipse la matière et l’humain touche au sacré.

Ce qui est intéressant dans son travail ce n’est pas seulement la spatialité –ou la relation à cette géographie toujours changeante et parfois torturée du corps humain–, mais également le rapport au temps. Comment surprendre une expression ou une émotion furtive et la rendre éternelle ? Comment libérer le mouvement et le vivant de la tyrannie du temps ? Les performeurs et les danseurs photographiés par Julien sur la scène de l’Opéra National de Paris ou d’autres grandes scènes ne sont pas que des éphémérides sur une affiche : ils deviennent immortels, comme des dieux dans un temple grecque, ils existeront pour toujours dans les coulisses du temps.

Nous avons eu le plaisir et la chance de travailler avec Julien pour la campagne « Liquides Imaginaires – Parfums d’élévation ». Grâce à nos passions partagées pour l’envol, l’élévation et la transcendance, nous avons échangé avec Julien quelques impressions sur sa démarche photographique et ses sources d’inspiration.

Liquides Imaginaires : Julien, peux-tu nous raconter en quelques mots ton parcours ? ton travail ?

Julien Benhamou : Je suis photographe spécialisé dans le portrait et la danse. J’ai commencé des recherches sur le mouvement et le corps il y a près de 10 ans et je travaille beaucoup à l’Opéra de Paris en ce moment, avec des performeurs et leurs corps. Je suis dans une démarche de l’élévation et de figer un instant. Oui, je suis dans l’idée du mouvement figé. Deux mots qui définissent mon travail : poétique et esthétique.

LI : Le photographe de scène est un photographe du mouvement, de l’imaginaire et de la narration, idées centrales à la marque Liquides Imaginaires. Comment as-tu trouvé le brief pour la campagne “Parfums d’Élévation” ?

JB : L’élévation – c’est vraiment un de mes questionnements artistiques quotidiens. Mon travail c’est vraiment ça. L’élévation. Le moment arrêté. La mission créative était très cohérente avec mon propre travail. C’était en résonance avec mes propres questionnements.

Dès le départ, Philippe avait une intention très claire, celle de l’élévation. On a commencé à travailler et à réfléchir ensemble à partir de ces notions-là : l’élévation, cela veut dire quelque chose de vaporeux, fluide, léger, en mouvement ou en suspension. Ensuite, j’ai proposé des personnes pour le casting, des éléments de décor. On est partis initialement sur des photo, mais plus le projet avançait, plus on s’est dit que la vidéo serait très adaptée, donc on l’a fait.

LI : Quelles sont les émotions associées à l’élévation que vous avez souhaité de transmettre ?

JB : Je voulais quelque chose de positif. Il y a une photo où il y a les mains qui vont vers le ciel. Ils sont très beaux, avec leurs expressions, il y a de la fluidité, du lâcher-prise. Pour moi, l’élévation c’est principalement quelque chose de positif.

LI : Qu’est-ce qui t’a inspiré dans le travail pour Liquides Imaginaires ?

JB : Travailler avec des parfums et avec Philippe, qui est un passionné. Je me suis demandé comment rendre la projection du parfum sur le corps.

LI : Faisons un exercice imaginaire. Quelle serait ta réponse photographique pour illustrer l’idée de retour au sacré ?

JB : Un lien entre la sol et l’air, pas forcément une élévation, ça peut être des pieds dans la terre et les bras dans l’air.

LI : Comment représenterais-tu une espace imaginaire ?

JB : Ça me fait penser à des nuages, à l’hiver, en tout cas, quelque chose de cotonneux…

Et le temps imaginaire ?

JB : Un énorme sablier !

LI : Quels sont les attributs qui te viennent à l’esprit quand tu penses à la marque Liquides Imaginaires? Qu’est-ce que la marque a de plus précieux, à ton avis ?

JB : Je pense d’abord aux éléments : l’eau, la terre, le feu. Je pense à une explosion d’éléments, quelque chose de très fort. Ces parfums racontent une histoire, apportant quelque chose d’ancestral et de moderne en même temps, comme une sorte de chaman, mais d’aujourd’hui.

LI : Si la marque était un personnage historique, fantastique ou mythologique, qui serait-elle ?

JB : Éros. Pour moi, il y a un rapport sensuel très fort avec les parfums et avec cette marque.

LI : Dans ton travail, on retrouve toujours un équilibre très fin entre la réalité et l’imaginaire, entre matière et esprit, entre le tangible et l’immatériel. En quoi consiste la démarche photographique de révélation de la partie « volatile » des choses ?

JB : Dans mon travail, la magie opère grâce au mouvement figé. Ce qui m’intéresse c’est de montrer quelque chose qui existe, mais qu’on ne voit pas. Lorsqu’il y a des sauts ou des mouvements, on voit dans une continuité de choses, mais dès qu’on l’arrête grâce à la photographie, on peut voir une autre version de la réalité, que l’on voit peut-être pas à l’œil nu.

LI : La photo et le parfum font appel à des sens qui n’ont pas de point de contact. Comment peut-on rendre visuel un parfum, est-ce un challenge ?

JB : Un challenge, non, parce qu’en fait, dans l’imagerie des parfums il y a beaucoup de visuels. Donc, pour moi c’était très cohérent de faire des photos qui représentent une odeur. C’est comme une illustration d’une idée, c’est ce sur quoi je travaille en général. Pour moi, c’était très cohérent.

LI : Quels sont les éléments constitutifs du sens d’élévation ?

JB : La mystique. Le dépassement de soi. Le divin. Le surnaturel. L’ancestral. La poésie. Le rêve. Des sentiments exaltés, le sentiment amoureux, la joie, que des sentiments positifs. C’est comme s’il y avait l’âme qui s’exprimait.